Menu
  1. Home
  2. What's New
  3. Services
  4. Parents
  5. Provider
  6. County Resources
  7. How Do I...?
  8. Search for Child Care

Teacher Education and Licensure Terms Glossary

A

 


Administrative Action

An action taken by the Division against a facility as the result of violations of the child care requirements or a substantiation of child abuse or neglect.  Administrative actions are a means that the Division uses to require child care operators to comply with the child care rules and law. The child care licensing law and the North Carolina Administrative Procedures Act empower the Division to issue administrative actions. Administrative actions are designed to direct child care operators in taking corrective action to achieve and maintain satisfactory compliance and promote safe environments to sustain quality child care.  

 

Administrative actions may include the following:

 


Approval for Subsidized Child Care Assistance

You may be eligible to receive financial assistance which can help pay the cost of child care. For more information about Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program contact your local Department of Social Services or Child Care Resource and Referral Agency.

B

 


BTSP – Beginning Teacher Support Program (BTSP)

A required three-year program for initially licensed teachers that provides mentoring, coaching and evaluation services.

 


BK – Birth-through-Kindergarten (BK) License

Birth-Kindergarten programs are designed to prepare educators to work with children, birth through age five, with and without disabilities. Each institution of higher education (4-year colleges/ universities) offers an inclusive, interdisciplinary course of study leading to the North Carolina BK teacher license. Individuals completing the requirements for this license will be prepared to enter the profession of teaching infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and kindergartners in public schools, child care programs, and developmental day centers. Teachers will also acquire skills to assist the families of young children. The interdisciplinary approach includes early childhood education, special education, child and family studies, and elementary education.

 


Birth-through-Kindergarten Teacher Education Standards

Standards and Indicators for Teacher Education Programs

Birth-through-Kindergarten Teacher Education Standards

C

 


Center – Child Care Center

An arrangement where, at any one time, there are three or more preschool-age children or nine or more school-age children receiving child care.   Capacity is determined by the available square footage and building, fire and safety standards.

 


Child Care Voucher

Document issued to the family that is determined eligible to receive child care services by the Local Purchasing Agency (LPA). This voucher serves as an agreement between the parent and the provider and is the mechanism which places the responsibility for the selection of a provider with the parent instead of the LPA. The voucher also certifies that payment could be made to an eligible provider participating in the Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program.

 


Continuing Licensure

A professional educator license that must be renewed every 5 years (Standard Professional II).

D

 


Date the Notice of Administrative Action was sent

Notification to the program which details the type of Administrative Action taken and any corrective actions the program is required to comply with.

E

 


Early Childhood Program

Any nonpublic school that serves young children (private child care center, NC Pre-Kindergarten, Developmental Day or Head Start program) and for which the EESLPD Office provides services and supports to the licensed teachers.

 


Early Educator Support, Licensure and Professional Development (EESLPD) Office

Located within the Early Education Unit in the Division of Child Development and Early Education, NC Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), the EESLPD Office administers and manages the initial Lateral Entry Teacher Support Program (LETP), the Beginning Teacher Support Program (BTSP), and the License Renewal Program for Early Childhood Education (ECE) teachers in nonpublic schools (NC PreK, Developmental Day, Head Start and other Early Childhood Programs). The EESLPD Office collaborates with the NC DPI through the Licensure Division and the NC Educator Recruitment and Development Division to ensure that ECE teachers in nonpublic schools meet teacher licensure requirements as set forth in NC State Board of Education policy.

 


Evaluator

An individual assigned to formally and informally observe licensed teachers, using a formative and summative evaluation.

F

 


FCCH – Family Child Care Home

A child care arrangement located in a residence where, at any one time, more than two children, but less than nine children, receive child care. 

 


Fine

Also known as a civil penalty, a fine may be given to a child care provider if the nature of a problem is a serious violation of a child care regulation.

 


Formative Evaluation

Ongoing assessments of an educator’s strengths and areas for development, used to identify strategies for professional growth.

I

 


IHE – IHEs

Institutions of Higher Education (four-year colleges/universities) with approved teacher education programs.

 


Initial Licensure

The first license granted to practice the teaching profession in North Carolina based upon successful completion of an approved Institution of Higher Education (4-year college/university) preparation program. Initial licensure includes the lateral entry provisional BK and BK Standard Professional I licenses.

 


ILT – Initially Licensed Teacher (ILT) file

A collection of evidences regarding the performance of a beginning teacher. “Initially Licensed” refers to teachers who are completing the three-year Beginning Teacher Support Program (BTSP). The BTSP requires each teacher to maintain a cumulative file (also referred to as “professional portfolio”).

L

 


LETP – Lateral Entry Teacher Program (LETP)

A process for granting entry into the teaching profession (lateral entry license) for up to three school years, while the individual completes requirements for the designated teaching area (requires the educator/teacher to complete a minimum 6 semester hours per year).

 


Licensure Only Plan

A plan issued to a teacher candidate with a BA/BS degree who is not employed in a teaching position. A Licensure Only Plan is written by a four-year college or university outlining courses and requirements that must be successfully completed to attain teacher licensure.

M

 


Mentor

An individual assigned to provide emotional, instructional, and organizational support to a beginning (initially licensed) teacher through the Beginning Teacher Support Program. Mentors receive formal training to support effective instructional practices.

N

 


NC Department of Public Instruction, Licensure Division

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction/ Licensure Section is authorized by the North Carolina State Board of Education to carry out the policy established for teacher licensure in North Carolina (https://stateboard.ncpublicschools.gov/).

 


NC Pre-K – NC Pre-Kindergarten Program (NC Pre-K)

High-quality pre-k program that serves children who are at risk and prepares them for success in school.

 


NC Standards for Mentors

Standards adopted by the NC State Board of Education in 2010 that define what mentors should know and be able to do to support effective classroom instructional practices. These standards can be found at: NC Pre-K Mentor Standards

 


North Carolina Professional Teaching Standards

Standards adopted by the NC State Board of Education (SBE) in 2007. These standards reflect what teachers need to know and do to be able to teach students in the 21st Century. These standards are reflected in the teacher’s Professional Development Plan (PDP) and can be found at: http://www.ncpublicschools.org/docs/effectiveness-model/ncees/standards/prof-teach-standards.pdf.

 


Notice of Action

Programs that have serious or repeated violations may receive an Administrative Action issued by the Division of Child Development and Early Education. Providers have the right to appeal an Administrative Action. When a provider appeals an action, a contested case hearing before an Administrative Law Judge is scheduled. The hearing is an opportunity for the provider and the Division of Child Development and Early Education to have witnesses testify about the situation which resulted in the Administrative Action. The provider/operator has 30 days after receiving the Notice of Administrative Action to file an appeal.

P

 


Plan of Study

A plan issued by a four-year college or university or a NC Regional Alternative Licensing Center that outlines courses and requirements that a lateral entry or provisionally licensed teacher must complete (or clear) to attain teacher licensure.

 


Preschooler or Preschool-Age Child

Any child that does not fit the definition of school-age child.

 


Probationary License or Notice of Compliance

A probationary license or Notice of Compliance may be given if the program has not met the law or rules either on purpose, or an on-going basis, or is hazardous to the health and safety of children. The probationary license, and the notice explaining why it was issued, must be posted in the child care program where it can be easily seen.

 


Professional Development

NAEYC Professional Development Glossary defines the intersection of training, technical assistance, consultation and formal education to support effective early childhood practices

 


PD – Professional Development (PD) Series

(a) Prerequisites required before a prospective lead teacher can be assigned a mentor and/or evaluator to support the BK licensure continuum. (b) Inservice requirements for educators who hold a Standard Professional II license that must be completed during a designated 5-year cycle.

 


PDP – Professional Development Plan (PDP)

A formal document developed by the licensed teacher in cooperation with mentor, evaluator and site administrator/director. This document outlines the professional growth goals for the teacher, and proposes strategies for increasing one’s skills.

 


Provisional License or Notice of Compliance

The license or Notice of Compliance of a child care program may be placed on provisional status if the program has not met the child care rules either on purpose, or it has happened more than once, or it is dangerous to the health and safety of children. A provisional license is given so that the program has time to fix the problems. The provisional license, and the notice explaining why it was issued, must be posted in the child care program where it can be easily seen.

R

 


Regional Accrediting Agencies

Council for Higher Education or CHEA. Accreditation is a process of external quality review used by higher education to scrutinize colleges, universities and educational programs for quality assurance and quality improvement. In the United States, accreditation is carried out by private, nonprofit organizations designed for this specific purpose. Institutions and educational programs seek accredited status as a means of demonstrating their academic quality to students and the public and to become eligible for federal funds.

For more information see http://www.chea.org/search/

 


RALC – Regional Alternative Licensing Center (RALC)

Regional Offices established by the NC State Board of Education (SBE) are authorized to evaluate and prescribe plans of study that will lead to teacher licensure in North Carolina.

 


Revocation of License or Notice of Compliance

A child care program's license or Notice of Compliance may be taken away if Division of Child Development and Early Education decides that the program has not met the rules or law on purpose, on an on-going basis, or the program is dangerous to the health or safety and/or the program has not made efforts to fix the problem. The child care provider is told in advance of the decision, and is given the chance to ask for a hearing about the decision, before the permit is taken away. If the child care provider does not ask for a hearing about the decision, the program must close. If there is a hearing, the provider may continue to operate until the process is complete. The notice that the permit has been taken away must be posted in the child care program where it can be easily seen.

 


Rubric for Evaluating North Carolina Teachers

A validated instrument used to assess teaching practices. The instrument is designed to promote effective leadership, quality teaching, and student learning while enhancing professional practice and leading to improved instruction. Initially licensed Early Childhood Education teachers are observed by the evaluator four times each year of the Beginning Teacher Support Program (BTSP), and during the fifth year of the five-year license renewal cycle for SPII licensed teachers.

S

 


School-age Child

School-age child means any child who is attending or who has attended a public or private grade school or kindergarten and meets age requirements as specified in G.S. 115C-364

 


Special Provisional License or Notice of Compliance

A special provisional license or Notice of Compliance may be given to any type of program when child maltreatment occurred in the child care arrangement. The program may not be allowed to enroll new children during the time the special provisional permit is in effect unless they receive written permission. The special provisional license, and the notice explaining why it was issued, must be posted in the child care program where it can be easily seen.  

 


Standard Professional I (SP I) Licensure

A three-year license, which allows the teacher to begin practicing the profession. To be issued a Standard Professional I License, an individual must complete an approved teacher education program and meet the federal requirements to be designated “highly qualified.” This designation (HQ) is not applicable to BK licensed teachers assigned to teach in pre-k classrooms.

 


Standard Professional II (SP II) License

A continuing license that allows the teacher to serve on an ongoing basis. A Standard Professional II License must be renewed every five years. Teachers are observed and evaluated annually. Also referred to as “Career Status.”

 


Subsidized School-age Child

Any child currently enrolled in public or private grade school that is receiving child care assistance from the local Department of Social Service.

 


Summary Suspension of License or Notice of Compliance

A summary suspension of a child care program’s license or Notice of Compliance may be ordered in accordance with G.S. 150B-3(c) when the Division of Child Development and Early Education determines emergency action is required to protect the health, safety, and welfare of children in the child care facility. 

 


Summative Evaluation and Rating

Assessment and rating of performance in relation to established criteria (NC Professional Teaching Standards) at the end of the school year. Data are gathered through teacher self-assessment, classroom observations, pre and post conferences, professional development plan, and review of artifacts.

 


Summer Day Camp

A seasonal recreational program that provides child care and operates for less than 4 months per year. These programs are not required to be licensed unless they participate in the subsidized child care program.

 


Suspension of License or Notice of Compliance

A child care program's License or Notice of Compliance may be suspended for up to 45 days if the Division of Child Development and Early Education decides that the program is not meeting rules on purpose, on an on-going basis, or dangerous to the health or safety of children and/or the program has not made reasonable efforts to correct the problem. When the permit is suspended, the program must close. Notice of a suspended permit must be posted in the program where it can be easily seen.

T

 


Team

Designated EESLPD Office mentor/evaluator, eligible teacher and Site Administrator/Director who work together in completing the requirements for the licensure process. The team may also include the teacher assistant in the classroom where the teacher is receiving services and other technical assistance practitioners to ensure cross-sector support is informed by the NC Professional Teaching Standards and the NC Standards for Mentors.

W

 


Written Reprimand

Child care programs receive notices for not meeting child care rules. This is the least severe penalty issued by the Division of Child Development and Early Education. It is issued for a problem that is not likely to happen again. For example, a program may receive a written reprimand because there was a change in ownership of the program and the Division of Child Development and Early Education was not notified. A written reprimand does not have to be posted in the child care program.

 


Written Warning

Child care programs receive notices for not meeting child care rules. This warning is a more serious notice than a written reprimand. It is given to notify a provider that a problem has been documented. The written warning includes the changes that must be made to correct the problem. For example, a program may have had more children per caregiver than is allowed by the rules. A written warning does not have to be posted in the child care program.

 

 

 

2201 Mail Service Center | Raleigh, NC 27699-2200
919-527-6335 | 1-800-859-0829 (In State Only)

 
Back To Top